PHOTO: JAY Z Ranks All Of His Albums


JAY Z took to his Life+Times site to share a photo that depicts his personal belief of where he feels his past albums currently rank at.  Take a look as Hov celebrates his 44th birthday today and also serves up some short commentary on each project.

1. Reasonable Doubt (Classic)
2. The Blueprint (Classic)
3. The Black Album (Classic)
4. Vol. 2 (Classic)
5. American Gangster (4 1/2, cohesive)
6. Magna Carta (Fuckwit, Tom Ford, Oceans, Beach, On the Run, Grail)
7. Vol. 1 (Sunshine kills this album…fuck… Streets, Where I’m from, You Must Love Me…)
8. BP3 (Sorry critics, it’s good. Empire (Gave Frank a run for his money))
9. Dynasty (Intro alone…)
10. Vol. 3 (Pimp C verse alone… oh, So Ghetto)
11. BP2 (Too many songs. Fucking Guru and Hip Hop, ha)
12. Kingdom Come (First game back, don’t shoot me)

VIDEO: The Creative Minds Behind JAY Z’s ‘The Black Album’


Revolt TV catches up with everyone from Young Chris to Pharrell and gets their thoughts on JAY Z’s classic LP, The Black Album.  Watch as Just Blaze, 9th Wonder and several other collaborators celebrate the project’s 10th anniversary and explain what it was like to be a part of something so special.  Other friends like DJ Khaled and Irv Gotti also show up to speak on what the album meant to them and its significant impact on Hip Hop.

VIDEO: JAY Z – “Pound Cake” First Live Performance In UK


JAY Z officially kicked off his new world tour in Manchester, UK and treated the crowd to a nice live instrument rendition of his classic song “Dead Presidents II” before jumping into his latest verse on Drake’s “Pound Cake.”  This is the first time the Roc Nation head honcho has performed the song in front of a live audience.

VIDEO: JAY Z & Ron Howard – Made In America | Documentary Trailer


Director Ron Howard and Showtime release a trailer to the upcoming Made In America documentary which goes behind-the-scenes and chronicles JAY Z’s groundbreaking festival.  The film is set to debut at the Toronto International Film Festival going down next weekend and finally will hit the small-screen for viewers on October 11.  Watch the sneak peek below to hear commentary from some of music’s biggest names on the importance of the festival and its significance.

VIDEO: JAY Z – Picasso Baby: A Performance Art Film


Life+Times unveils JAY Z’s newest art inspired music video for “Picasso Baby” which was shot last month inside an art gallery in New York.  Directed by Mark Romanek, the 10-minute short film is definitely a new experience and unqiue presentation as Jay performs as a living work of art for six hours straight.  The upbeat music video came out exceptionally well and theres also opening and closing scenes with Hov giving insight into the music video’s creative direction.

VIDEO: Mike Will Talks Recording “Beach Is Better” w/ Jay-Z


Producer Mike Will sits down with Revolt TV as they continue their series of sit downs with the creative minds behind Jay-Z’s Magna Carta Holy Grail album.  In this episode, Will gives insight behind his contribution to the project with the interlude “Beach Is Better” which quickly stood out on the album’s tracklist and left fans wanting more.  Mike Will emphasizes to the camera that the impressive collaboration was rather effortless between the two and shares a personal conversation he had with Jay-Z about the producers hands on approach.   

VIDEO: JAY Z Interview w/ Elliott Wilson On The Truth | Pt. 1


Interviewer Elliott Wilson sits down with New York’s JAY Z at Yankee Stadium for a candid one-on-one sit down as the two discuss a number of topics.  In part one, Wilson credits Hov with popularizing the New York Yankee fitted hat and asks JAY Z to share his thoughts on performing in Yankee Stadium alongside Justin Timberlake for his Legends of Summer Tour.  At one point in the interview Jay also reassures fans that he has no ego and loves collaborating with other talent in order to create special moments in music.  Hov also shares an early conversation he had with Rick Rubin on “Holy Grail” and deciding to remove The-Dream off the track and replacing his vocals with Justin Timberlake’s.  JAY Z also speaks on his love for art and his belief that the creative outlet runs parallel with music.  Wilson also discusses with Jigga his longtime desire to change music industry standards since taking his previous position as Def Jam president.

VIDEO: Jay-Z Interview w/ BBC’s Zane Lowe | Pt. 4


In the final part of BBC and Zane Lowe’s sit down with legendary MC Jay Z, the rapper speaks openly about his desire to grow and evolve.  Hov also reflects on the love for his daughter, Blue Ivey, and his initial feelings.  Jay also stresses the importance of being mature and prepared when deciding to bring a child into this world.  As the conversation continues, Hov shares his creative direction behind “Jay Z Blue” off his recent Magna Carta Holy Grail album as well as the rebellious message to challenge the status quo behind “F.U.T.W.”.  Deciding to change the initial hook on “Tom Ford” also is discussed along with Jay Z’s new focus on balancing family life and a busy career.

VIDEO: JAY Z – Picasso Baby | Behind The Scenes


In front of a packed house inside New York’s Pace Gallery, Hov put on a performance for “Picasso Baby” off his new Magna Carta Holy Grail album for six hours straight.  Go behind the scenes and get a sneak peek of Jay puttin’ it down for the multiple cameras and the lucky few who got the opportunity to take part in the shooting of the music video.

VIDEO: Timbaland Talks Falling Out & Reconciling w/ Jay-Z


Super producer Timbaland opens up to Revolt TV cameras about his past falling out with Jay-Z.  Timbo shares his feelings on missing Jay-Z’s 40th birthday and the pain he endured with having to part ways from his good friend.  However,  after receiving text messages from Jay-Z to come out to Brooklyn so that they both could talk, the two friends eventually reconciled and embraced one another after setting their egos aside.