PHOTO: JAY Z Ranks All Of His Albums


JAY Z took to his Life+Times site to share a photo that depicts his personal belief of where he feels his past albums currently rank at.  Take a look as Hov celebrates his 44th birthday today and also serves up some short commentary on each project.

1. Reasonable Doubt (Classic)
2. The Blueprint (Classic)
3. The Black Album (Classic)
4. Vol. 2 (Classic)
5. American Gangster (4 1/2, cohesive)
6. Magna Carta (Fuckwit, Tom Ford, Oceans, Beach, On the Run, Grail)
7. Vol. 1 (Sunshine kills this album…fuck… Streets, Where I’m from, You Must Love Me…)
8. BP3 (Sorry critics, it’s good. Empire (Gave Frank a run for his money))
9. Dynasty (Intro alone…)
10. Vol. 3 (Pimp C verse alone… oh, So Ghetto)
11. BP2 (Too many songs. Fucking Guru and Hip Hop, ha)
12. Kingdom Come (First game back, don’t shoot me)

VIDEO: Q-Tip Talks ATCQ Ending, ‘The Last Zulu’ LP, Busta Rhymes + More w/ Elliott Wilson


Rap Radar’s Elliott Wilson recently linked up with Q-Tip at New York’s Barclays Center for an exclusive interview before he hit the stage later that night on the latest episode of “The Truth”.  Tip opened up about his excitement for being able to perform on the Yeezus Tour with Kanye West, A Tribe Called Quest’s last days as a group and the evolution of his music and lyrics.  The Hip Hop veteran also addressed Tribe’s classic album, Midnight Marauders, collaborating with Busta Rhymes on his new single “Thank You,” producing Kanye West’s 2014 album with Rick Rubin, his new solo album, The Last Zulu, and much more.

NEWS: JAY Z Issues Statement On Barney’s Racial Profiling Controversy

jayzJAY Z has remained quiet on the ongoing investigation concerning Barney’s New York which is accused of allegedly racial profiling customers.  The public has been patiently waiting to see if Hov would address the matter and break his silence especially since no announcement to cancel his upcoming collaborative holiday collection with the retail giant had been issued.  However, the hip hop mogul finally took to his Life+Times website to release an official statement and confirm that his plans with Barney’s will be moving forward.  Check out JAY Z’s statement below.

In the past several weeks two separate investigations were launched as a result of the wrongful detention of Trayon Christian and Kayla Phillips. My team has been privy to the status of the Barneys third party consultant investigation. In continuing our research, we also contacted the New York State Attorney General’s office for the status of their investigation into both Barneys and Macy’s. Those findings are not yet available.

While I await the findings of the Attorney General’s Office, I have agreed to move forward with the launch of BNY SCC collection under the condition that I have a leadership role and seat on a council specifically convened to deal with the issue of racial profiling. I am in a unique position to use my voice to affect change to this disturbing issue. The easy position would have been to walk away and leave policy making to others hoping that someone addresses the problem. I will not leave the outcome to others. I will take this into my own hands with full power to recommend, review and revise policies and guidelines moving forward. I am choosing to take this head on.

As I previously stated, the collaboration with Barneys has always been about giving and The Shawn Carter Foundation. From this collection, the Foundation will receive not only 25% of sales, it will now receive the additional 75% of Barneys’ sales, totalling 100% of all sales from BNY SCC. Along with 100% of sales from the collaboration, the Foundation will receive an additional 10% of all retail sales from Barneys New York stores nationwide and on November 20th.  – Shawn “JAY Z” Carter

VIDEO: Pharrell Talks JAY Z & The Black Album


Life+Times links up with Pharrell and gets the legendary producer’s thoughts on his collaboration with JAY Z for “Allure” which is featured on the rapper’s The Black Album.  Skateboard P discusses his motivation for enticing Jigga Man to rhyme over the instrumental and talks about tapping into Hov’s emotional style of flow.  Speaking candidly with the camera, P also touches on “Can I Live” being one of his all time favorite records from JAY Z, the origins of their friendship, chemistry in the studio and the longevity of his career.

VIDEO: A$AP Ferg – Hood Pope | DECODED


A$AP Ferg sits down with JAY Z’s Life+Times for the latest episode of DECODED.  The A$AP Mob member breaks down for the cameras the creative direction behind his smooth and hard-hitting “Hood Pope” track featured on Ferg’s new Trap Lord album.  Hear what the young rapper has to say on his motivation to spread his sermon to the hood.

VIDEO: Big Sean – First Chain | DECODED


Big Sean checks in with JAY Z’s Life+Times and decodes his song “First Chain” off his new album Hall Of Fame.  Breaking down all the details during a candid interview, Sean reflects on the creative direction for the track and shares the meaning behind his lyrics.  “First Chain” is Big Sean’s latest single featured on his new Hall Of Fame LP which is now available in stores.