VIDEO: DJ Quik Talks West Coast Hip Hop, New Album + More On Extended Play


West Coast legend, DJ Quik, sat down for an exclusive interview with, Robin Di Maggio, on Arsenio Hall’s Extended Play.  The rapper spoke modestly on his career and humbled himself to the likes of Dr. Dre, Battlecat and DJ Muggs when asked if he agreed he was the best producer in Los Angeles.  Quik also touched on the new era of West Coast Hip Hop and pointed out that he’s a major supporter of TDE.  Before calling it a wrap, the gangsta rapper revealed to viewers that he recently acquired the appropriate budget to be able to start recording for his new LP and that fans can expect him to take things back to his roots.  The project will serve as Quik’s 9th studio album.

VIDEO: DJ Quik Decodes “Justify My Thug”


Legendary artist and producer DJ Quik sits down on the latest episode of Life+Time’s DECODED web series.  Watch as the Compton native touches on his contributions to JAY Z’s classic Black Album LP.  Quick breaks down how he was able to link up with Hov and the creative process behind “Justify My Thug” after Madonna decided to pull out from participating on the song’s hook.

NEWS: Stalley – Honest Cowboy | EP Edition


MMG rapper Stalley drops his first official digital release today with his Honest Cowboy EP.  The Ohio native’s project contains five of the original tracks featured on the recently released mixtape version and adds two additional songs featuring artist Rashad with “Blue Collar Gang” and “Sticks and Stones.”  Take a look at the full tracklist below which features production credits from DJ Quik, Cardo, Terrace Martin, Rashad and Block Beattaz.  CLICK HERE to purchase the EP version of Stalley’s Honest Cowboy.

1) Spaceships & Woodgrains (Prod. DJ Quik and Cardo)

2) Swangin’ feat. Scarface and Joi Tiffany (Prod. Block Beattaz)

3) Samson (Prod. Rashad)

4) The Highest feat. Crystal Torres (Prod. Block Beattaz)

5) NineteenEighty7 feat. Schoolboy Q (Prod. Terrace Martin)

6) Sticks and Stones feat. Rashad (Prod. Rashad)

7) Blue Collar Gang feat. Rashad (Prod. Rashad)

VIDEO: DJ Quik – Life Jacket

Flying undetected under the hip hop radar, DJ Quik sneaks up on fans and releases a new song titled “Life Jacket” and a video to accompany its release.  In the just under two minute clip, we see the west coast legend doing his thing over a catchy loop inside of a recording studio with a guitar in-hand, pushin a fancy whip and blowin’ that Cali smoke in the air.

S/O BlogOrDiePGH

VIDEO: DJ Quik & Suga Free Live From Rock The Bells 2012 HD

Can’t forget DJ Quik’s performance from Rock The Bells 2012 in San Bernardino.  Though the sun was scorching the crowd was definitely hyped and feeling the tunes when Quik and Suga Free came out.   

Filmed by Collective State TV for